Guidance in relation to Covid-19. The Green Flag Award program is going ahead this year with special arrangements in place for judges and applicants. To find out more login to www.greenflagaward.org for a full briefing and further information.

The judging process has two stages.

Stage one - Desk assessment

In this first stage the judges will assess the application - the site-specific management plan and associated documentation, and a response to the judges' feedback from the previous year (if this is not a first application). This section is worth 30 out of 100 points. At least 15 points are required to gain the accreditation.

Stage two - Site assessment

The second stage will comprise a site visit where the judges assess whether the management plan is in in practice on the site, and how well the Green Flag Award® expectations have been met, by observation and by questioning staff, volunteers and visitors. Every new site is visited by a pair of experienced judges, who make an appointment to inspect the site and meet staff and volunteers. In subsequent years, judges alternately 'mystery shop' sites and carry out pre-arranged assessments alongside site staff and other representatives. This section is worth 70 out of 100 points. It must score at least 42 points to gain the accreditation.

Any site that achieves less than 15 on the desktop assessment, 42 on the field assessment or less than 66 overall is a fail and will not be awarded a Green Flag.

Every application will receive a full desk assessment, a site visit and a full feedback report, irrespective of the outcome.

Need to know more?

Check out the Frequently Asked Questions


MoST Content Management V3.0.8159