About the Awards

The Green Flag Award® is the international mark of quality. The scheme was set up in 1996 to recognise and reward green spaces in England and Wales and since then has been introduced to many countries throughout the world.

Each year parks, reserves and green spaces are nominated for the Green Flag Award®. Industry experts assess the nominated parks across eight criteria including environmental management, horticultural standards, cleanliness, sustainability, community involvement and providing a warm welcome.

Guidance in relation to Covid-19. The Green Flag Award program is going ahead this year with special arrangements in place for judges and applicants. To find out more login to www.greenflagaward.org for a full briefing and further information.

Key Dates

Applications open

March 2020

Applications close

30 June 2020

Judging occurs

6 July to 28 August 2020

Awards Presentation


2019 Award Winners

View 2019 Award Winners

Need to know more?

Check out the Frequently Asked Questions


MoST Content Management V3.0.7560