Frank Stewart Distinguished Service Award

The Frank Stewart Award is Parks and Leisure Australia's highest individual honour. It is awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development, promotion and advocacy of the parks and leisure industry through their personal and professional endeavours.

The Frank Stewart Distinguished Service Award is judged by previous winners of the award and the recipient receives an Honorary Life Membership to Parks and Leisure Australia as well as a commemorative plaque.

Nominees must:

  • Be a current individual member of PLA or the nominated representative for a corporate member of PLA
  • Have at least 5 years continuous and current membership of PLA
  • Have a minimum of 5 years' experience in the parks and leisure industry
  • Be nominated by two current individual PLA members
  • Please note: Individuals cannot self-nominate

Previous Winners

Year Winner Position / Organisation
1985 Laurie Boyd Director, Centre for Leadership and Management
1986 Rob Ewart Retired
1987 Ric Thompson General Manager, Inclusion Works
1988 Garry Henshall Managing Director, Garry Henshall and Associates
1989 Peter Butler Manager, Amstel Golf Course
1990 Michael King Director, SGL Leisure Group
1991 Helen Hayes Planning Consultant, Queensland
1992 Greg Maddock Deceased
1993 Jim Harley Retired
1997 Ken Marriott Helen Croxford Managing Director, HM Leisure Planning Director, City of Maroondah
1998 Peter Fitchett Director, City of Casey
1999 John Senior Neville Byrne Manager - Strategic Partnerships, Parks Victoria Team Leader, Mt Lofty Ranges
2000 Francis Lobo Senior Lecturer, Edith Cowan University (retired)
2001 Andrew Taylor Chief Executive Officer, Snowy Works and Services
2002 Martin Doulton Director, Monash Sport
2003 Peter Nicholls Managing Director, Work Leisure International
2004 Sarah-Jo Mason Communications Manager, The AbiGroup
2005 Les Dennis David Aldous Director, Community Development and Special Events Management Adjunct Professor, The University of Queensland (since deceased)
2006 Tony Veal Adjunct Professor, University of Technology (Sydney)
2007 Stephen Wearing Adjunct Professor, University of Technology (Sydney)
2008 Stephen Bourke Director Community and Recreation, Sutherland Shire Council
2009 Sally Jeavons Principal, @leisure
2010 Anne Binkley Retired
2011 John Brandenburg John P Brandenburg Consulting (since deceased)
2012 John Wood John Wood Consultancy Services Pty Ltd
2013 Bruce Fordham Manager of Leisure and Events, Hume City Council
2014 Cathy Kiss Senior Open Space Planner, City of Melbourne
2015 Andrew Smith Group Leader Asset Management, City of Onkaparinga
2016 Not Awarded
2017 Penny Davidson Retired
2018 Kevin Lowe General Manager Urban Planning & Leisure Services, Campbelltown City Council, SA
2019 Kirsten Jackson Manager Active Communities, Cardinia Shire Council
2020 Martin Lambert
Director, Otium Planning Group
2021 Nick Cox Chief Executive Officer, Belgravia Leisure

MoST Content Management V3.0.8159